Domestic Violence Lawyer

The Protection Of Women from Domestic Violence Act, 2005 covers those women who are or have been in a relationship with the abuser but it also covers those women who have lived together in a shared household and are related by consanguinity, the marriage or through a relationship in the nature of marriage or adoption. It also covers those women who are sisters, widows, mothers, single women, or living in any other relationship with the abuser are entitled to legal protection under the Domestic Violence Act.

Types of abuse under the Domestic Violence Act:

  • Physical Abuse

It is the use of physical force against a woman that causes bodily injury or hurt. For instance, beating, throwing objects,  forcing her to leave the matrimonial house, hurting her children, using physical force in sexual situations

  • Verbal and Emotional Abuse

Emotional abuse includes verbal abuse such as yelling, name-calling, blaming and shaming. Isolation, intimidation and controlling behaviour, calling names, blaming, insulting, criticizing also come under emotional abuse.

  • Economic Abuse

Economic abuse is depriving a woman of all or any economic or financial resources to which the person is entitled under the law, restricting the women’s access to the shared household.  Economic abuse mainly includes a woman not been provided with enough money by her partner to maintain herself and her children and allowing a woman to take up employment. Disposing of the assets of a woman either movable or immovable, shares, bonds, valuable, securities and other such properties amounts to economic abuse.


Learn to take the right steps